Pluck, after you sign in, go up to the black banner and click on “User CP” then on “Edit Options” then in the “Receive Email” section UNMARK the box where it says “Receive Friendship Request Email” and you won’t get them anymore.
There are a lot of other choices you can also disable if you want to keep things simple.